Home » Women’s Parliamentary Caucus

Women’s Parliamentary Caucus



The Women’s Parliamentary Caucus consists of seven Members, namely:

  • Hon. Chantal Ghislain – Chairperson
  • Hon. Regina Esparon – Vice-Chairperson
  • Hon. Audrey Vidot
  • Hon. Sylvanne Lemiel
  • Hon. Noline Sophola
  • Hon. Flory Larue
  • Hon. Jany De Letourdie

The Committee is further supported in its secretarial duties by two staff; Ms. Thelma Julie as the Secretary to Committee and Mrs Ghislaine Thelermont as the Assistant Secretary.


The role and responsibilities of the Committee of Women Parliamentarians is to provide an opportunity for women members and other interested parties to meet together to share experiences, seek solutions and discuss topics of particular significance or relevance to women in the parliament and legislatures.

As per its Terms of Reference (TOR) the Committee also considers questions of equal opportunities for women and men and activities, policies and legislation related thereto both locally and internationally. The Committee carries out follow-ups on the compliance of the National Assembly and Government, in matters pertaining to equal opportunities for women and men.

The Committee encourages and advocates in favour of capacity building for women in government, and support the participation of women in politics in particular their contribution to the proliferation of good governance. Furthermore, it establishes relations with and participate in meetings of local and international bodies promoting equal opportunities for women and men and represent the National Assembly in and follow the work of the relevant intergovernmental expert committees that deals with issues pertaining to women and parliament, both locally and internationally.

The Committee maintains working relations with the relevant Regional and International organizations, such as Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP), United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM), the Commission on the Statute of Women (CSW), the Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) and the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR).


To efficiently discharge its function the Committee of Women Parliamentarians participates very actively in several activities.

Some of the recent activities or missions carried out by the Committee are:

  • Visit to the Hospital at Perseverance
  • Volunteer Evening with Paster Lannwit
  • Visit to Montagne Posee prison