Home » Press Releases » Successful Visit of the President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, H.E Hon. Gabriela Cuevas Barron

Successful Visit of the President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, H.E Hon. Gabriela Cuevas Barron

The President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), H.E Hon Gabriela Cuevas Barron of whom had arrived in Seychelles on Sunday 19th January 2020 had a successful three-day visit involving courtesy calls and an Address to the House during an Extraordinary Sitting.


Hon. Barron was accompanied by the Speaker of the National Assembly. Hon. Nicholas Prea and the Deputy Clerk, Mrs. Tania Isaac, of whom is also the Desk Officer for the IPU and two Members who represent the Assembly at the IPU, Hon. Waven William and Hon. Jany De Letourdi during her official visits and meetings on Tuesday 21st January 2020.


President Danny Faure received Hon. Barron and resident Faure and commended IPU for the work that it is doing in the promotion of human rights and global dialogue. The President also said that he hoped her visit would further strengthen IPU’s relations with Seychelles. Soon after Hon. Barron paid a courtesy call with the Vice-President, Mr. Vincent Meriton whereby they discussed climate change issues affecting small island developing states, the importance of storing information digitally for Parliaments and the large potential and international impact of the IPU.





In Hon. Barron’s Address to the House during the Extraordinary Sitting on Tuesday 21st January, thanked Seychelles for its active participation on the platform of the IPU and highlighted the importance of Parliaments inclusive Parliaments, as well as calling out to the Youths to participate in politics, work with their communities and to change the planet. Following the Address, Hon. Barron planted an avocado tree in the Commonwealth Garden

_DSC3749 (2)




_DSC3803 (2)




Editor’s Notes: The IPU is the global organization of national parliaments that began in 1889 and today, the membership includes 179 Member Parliaments and 12 Associate Members. Their mission is to promote democratic governance, institutions and values, working with parliaments and parliamentarians to articulate and respond to the needs and aspirations of the people. They work for peace, democracy, human rights, gender equality, youth empowerment and sustainable development through political dialogue, cooperation and parliamentary action.