Home » Press Releases » 2019 » Media, Youth & Culture Committee Participate in Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue with Designated Minister

Media, Youth & Culture Committee Participate in Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue with Designated Minister

The Media, Youth & Culture Committee of the National Assembly met with the Designated Minister, Mrs. Macsuzy Mondon, as well as the CEOs and Chairpersons of the different entities under the sectors of Culture and Youth on Monday 10th June 2019.

The multi-stakeholder introductory meeting was aimed at connecting the Committee with the representatives from the different organizations under Youth & Culture, as well as carry out open discussions on challenges and the development of projects and initiatives within the remit of these organizations.


Minister Mondon was accompanied by the Principal Secretary of Youth, Mr. Fabian Palmyre and the Principal Secretary of Culture, Ms. Cecile Kalebi, as well as the CEOS and Chairpersons of the National Arts Council, the Kreol Institute, the Seychelles Heritage Foundation, the Seychelles National Youth Council and the Creative Industries and National Events Agency.

Each organization got the opportunity to explain their mandate and scope of work to the Committee, as well as discuss certain challenges and future developments within their respective sectors. During the meeting both Hon. Henrie, Chairperson of the Committee and Minister Mondon, as well as the representatives present agreed on the importance of promoting and valuing youth and culture in the national development of the country; for Youth and Culture to be given its national value.


Going forward, the Committee plans to carry out visits to the different organizations of youth and culture to ensure monitoring and a better understanding of the policies and working environments of these sectors. The scope of work will also include making reports and recommendations and inquiries, as well as study and make proposals for the review of legislation within these portfolios.

The Media, Youth & Culture Committee is a standing Committee which comprises of the following Members; Hon. Gervais Henrie, as Chairperson, Hon. Flory Larue, as Vice-Chairperson, Hon. Jany De Letourdi, Hon. Paul Ernesta, Hon. Chantal Ghislain, Hon. Simon Gill and Hon. Wavel Woodcock, as well as Ms. Alexandria Faure, Committee Secretary and Ms. Samia Lebon, Committee Secretary Assistant.

A large part of the work of the Members of the National Assembly takes place in Committees that are constitutionally empowered; where policy issues are considered, the work and expenditure of the Government is analysed and proposals for legislation examined and investigated.

_DSC1373 _DSC1398