Home » Press Releases » Hon. Egbert Aglae Attends High Level Political Round Table Dialogue on HIV/AIDS in Pretoria

Hon. Egbert Aglae Attends High Level Political Round Table Dialogue on HIV/AIDS in Pretoria

The Honorable Member for the District of Port Glaud, Hon. Egbert Aglae recently attended a high level meeting in Pretoria, South Africa from 18th -19th September 2018. The meeting was aimed at increasing domestic and international funding towards HIV/AIDS in the SADC Region. Although the SADC region remains the area most affected by the HIV epidemic, the Member States, in line with the SADC HIV and AIDS Strategic Framework continue to implement a number of interventions. These include: condom promotion and distribution; behaviour change communication; HIV Testing and Counselling; mainstreaming HIV and AIDS across all sectors and much more.

As HIV/AIDS remains a key challenge for the sub-Saharan African countries, the shrinking external resources coupled with stagnant increases in domestic investment in health and HIV has resulted in continually widening the resource gap between what is required to address the issue. The purpose of the high level meeting attended by Hon Aglae was to engage and interrogate the prevailing funding environment and define viable options for increasing domestic contribution to the response and agree on concrete commitments for individual and collective actions.


It was raised as a concern by the Member States who attended the meeting that there is need to increase domestic funding as international donor funding is considerably declining thus efforts and calls are being made to SADC Member states to maximize funding from private sectors by pushing for an improved regulatory and taxation framework and better partnerships to positively impact those affected’ states Hon Aglae.

As well as participating in the important discussions, Hon Aglae also attended a moderated round table panel to ‘Interrogate the role of shared responsibility and global solidarity through increased domestic spending and international financing to sustain and accelerate progress on HIV responses.’

IMG_2423 IMG_2425

Editor’s Note: The Southern African Development Community Parliamentary Forum (SADC PF) was established in 1997 in accordance with Article 9 (2) of the SADC Treaty as an autonomous institution of SADC. It is a regional inter-parliamentary body composed of fourteen parliaments representing over 3500 parliamentarians in the SADC region. These member parliaments are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.